CMMI-ISO-9001-kansas city mo

Getting CMMI Certified in Kansas City, Missouri (MO)

Contact Us

free-quote-iso 9001 kansas city mo


CMMI or the Capability Maturity Model Integration is a process-level appraisal and training program. The program is administered by the CMMI institute which is a subsidiary of ISACA and was created at the CMU (Carnegie Mellon University). It is a requirement by most US government contracts especially the ones in software management.

According to CMU, organizations can use CMMI to guide process improvement across the division, project, and even the whole organization. The model has five maturity levels which include the Initial, Managed, Defined, Quantitatively Managed & Optimizing. CMU has registered CMMI in the United States’ Patent & Trademark office. Therefore, it is a genuine standard that your organization can take full advantage of.

CMMI-ISO-9001-kansas city mo

The Main Areas of CMMI

CMMI originally addresses three main areas of interest. These include;

  1. Product & service development i.e., CMMI for Development or CMMI-DEV
  2. Service establishment, management i.e., CMMI for services or CMMI-SVC, and finally.
  3. Product and service acquisition i.e., CMMI for acquisition or CMMI-ACQ

In the previous version of CMMI, each of these three areas has its own separate model. However, all of them have now been merged into one single model.

CMMI was created by a group from the government, industry, and the SEI (Software Engineering Institute) at CMU. CMMI gives guidance for improving or developing processes that meet the organization’s business goals. The organization can also use the CMMI model as a framework for appraising the organizations’ process maturity. The whole CMMI product suite, by January 2013, was transferred to the CMMI Institute from SEI. This is an organization that was fully created at Carnegie Mellon.

The CMMI project developed CMMI with the aim of improving the usability of the maturity models through the integration of several different models into a single framework.  The main sponsors of the project were the National Defense Industry Association and the OSD (Office of the Secretary of Defense).

CMMI is a successor to the CMM (capability maturity model) or software. The creation of CMM was from 1987 all the way to 1997. The first version was released in 2002 and the second version in 2006 while the third was published in November 2010. Some of the major changes in the CMMI including supporting agile software development, high maturity practice improvements, and representation alignment which is both continuous and staged.

The Software Engineering Institute states that CMMI helps in integrating the traditionally separate company functions, setting process improvement priorities and goals, provision of guidance for quality processes, and provision of reference points for the appraisal of current processes.

ISACA acquired the CMMI Institute in 2016. Version 1.3 has three representations which are staged and continuous. The continuous representation allows users to focus on specific processes that are significant to the immediate business objectives of the organization or to the ones where the organization assigns a high-risk level.

The staged representation provides a standard sequence of improvement and serves as the basis for comparing the maturity level of various organizations and projects. This representation also allows for easy migration from SW-CMM to the CMMI. Version 2.0 canceled these two representations and has come up with a single cohesive model. You can get the best consultancy services in Kansas City, Missouri (MO), from IQC The ISO Pros.

IQC The ISO Pros can help you implement, train on, consult, and have your company and/or organization certified on the following ISO Certifications: